briocarioca

By briocarioca

Friends and foes

I meant to lock myself away from the outside world today, but the light was so glorious that my good intentions didn't even last till after breakfast. However, I exerted some self-control and resisted the temptation to wander off with the camera, or even check blip, while still working out on the porch.

Until Kayla started barking frantically at something in the undergrowth, that is. Imagining she might have come across a coati, I set off to investigate - but dashed back for the camera. The first time it happened, she was rooting around in a large clump of Adam's Rib (Swiss-cheese plant/Split-leaf philodendron /Monstera deliciosa). I managed to entice her back to the house, but just before dark, she was at it again. I followed her, camera in hand, as she started up the path, and got a shot of the object of her attention - not a coati, but a porcupine (Brazilian version, much smaller than the Asian type, but its quills cause daft dogs and their owners much pain (to the former) and expense (to the latter). They never learn.

The shot of the porcupine isn't really good enough to post, so here's my contribution to Friendly Friday Fifty - Kayla in person, luckily not sporting any porcupine quills in her muzzle. In fact, her muzzle is in better shape than mine. Her friendly greeting last night resulted in her jumping up just as I bent down - and a bloody split lip for me. It has not improved my appearance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.