THE JOY OF WALKING.....

.....in your own garden, when you haven't been able to get out there to do any work or even to look at your plants, is amazing!

Today, although the grass is wet and muddy with worm casts, I was determined to get out there and see the last few flowers in their own environment, rather than having them picked and taking photographs indoors. There are a few marigolds still blooming, and this one caught my eye with all the raindrops still on it.

Out I went, minus silver legs, and had a great time - it was more difficult taking photographs, as I couldn't get right down, but it was a great feeling and it was important to me that I did it on my own.

When I got back to the conservatory door, I realised my jeans were wet and muddy and my shoes were even muddier, but Mr. HCB came to my rescue and it will all brush off when it's dry - and even if it doesn't, it was so worthwhile.

It reminded me of this song, which I used to sing when I was about 10 years old, sung here by George Beverley Shea - I Come to the Garden Alone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.