Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

THE NATIVITY - A LABOUR OF LOVE

I know there are still 33 days until Christmas, but as I said yesterday, the completed Nativity will be going into Lawn Primary School next week, so this is really my last chance to take a photograph.

I thought you might be interested in the "journey" from the start:

17th January : Would you believe…. - the balls of wool waiting to be knitted.

7th February : Transformation! - the three Wise Men.

5th March : Completed with 296 days to spare! I still can't quite believe that I finished the whole set in 47 days - that was before "blipping" took over!

27th April : Friends are a Blessing! Our friend, Barry, has made the stable and a box to put all the figures in - and I think you will agree the stable looks great. I am not TOO sure about having real straw - it does look good, but is rather messy! Will take the bag of straw in next week and leave Mrs. Jordan to sort that out.

And then, I decided that we needed an Angel to complete the whole scene - and I blipped this yesterday - I think it took me longer from thinking about the Angel to knitting it than it had taken for the whole set! I must pay tribute too, to Mr. HCB, who looked for lost needles when I dropped them, encouraged me, gave advice and made me endless cups of coffee to keep me going. He is a star!

So - full circle - all done with a few days to spare, and I have also bought a book about the Nativity so that it can stay with the set and hopefully will help the children to understand what Christmas is REALLY about.

We learnt a new carol in church a couple of years ago - it's good to sing the old carols, but sometimes it's good to learn a new one - I hope you enjoy this one Emmanual - Hallowed Manger Ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.