Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Bonus Reading Time

Day One of the new regime routine. A quick piddle out in the front garden (Archie), and I get showered and dressed right away. No more sitting around half the morning in my jim jams! Archie used to have free access to the back garden, so there was no need for a routine, but this is now out of bounds for him.

After JR had departed, Archie and I went an SPP walk (Sniff, Piddle, Poo - Archie again) round the block. I, of course, am on the lookout for any discarded pallets to feed my habit. Then a leisurely breakfast for both of us me - Archie gobbles his, but I am only slightly better... This will work well.

I reckon this gives us both an extra hour every day, and so it's not going to be frittered away. It will be an enforced reading session on the sofa, in order to finish a book in the same year month as I start it. Though I did come to on more than one occasion and realise that we'd both been snoozing...

I'm really enjoying 'The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared'. I can't say I enjoyed the Man Booker prize winner this year - 'The Narrow Road to the Deep North' - a harrowing account of POWs building the Burma railway.

Archie's favourite read (actually, I think he just looks at the pictures) is the Dog Magazine, of course.

Having taken down the puppy pen fence, I now have various bits of fencing to use in the front garden to make the hedge - which is a bit sparse at dog level - more secure.

The new pallet that I procured the other day was attacked with the crow bar for a few minutes. Then I left it for another time when the flesh was more willing.

I hung up the star lights at the back door. This is a sign that I'm working up to getting ready to acknowledge that Christmas is nearing... In fact, I see a new little white ornamental Christmas tree with flickering tea lights has mysteriously appeared on the mantelpiece. Is it December already? (No)

Last day of my B&W Challenge. I made it! Sort of...

Oops! Some colour has sneaked in again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.