Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Baguette anyone?

For the first time, while I was half dozing this morning, Archie decided to chew a slipper! Is it because I have a shelf full of his toys-to-be-fixed, and he was dropping a wee hint?

We popped over to visit Uncle A, and set up a Gmail account for him, as his other one hasn't been working, despite the extensive phone efforts of a woman in India.

We then took the bus into town and walked through the Meadows. Archie had a lovely time running around meeting dogs. Then he disappeared behind a big tree, and when I went to see what was attracting him, I discovered a huge pile of slices of French bread! He grabbed a slice and ran off, miles away, to eat it in peace. I had to wait till he came back and grab him. But if it had been an unsliced baguette, he'd've run off with the whole thing and I'd never have caught him until he'd eaten the lot! And if I'd let him off the lead further on, he would have run back and gobbled more.

He is such a scavenger! You'd think we didn't feed him. I blame it on the rubbish around here -school kids dropping bits of food, having food fights (yes, groups stand on opposite corners and throw biscuits at each other!) he learned as a wee puppy that there are treats to be had on pavements and near benches.

We went past this nice wall. Actually, if you think it looks unnaturally tidy for an Edinburgh back street, it is! I couldn't help myself - I had to tidy up the fag ends and chewing gum. Though just digitally! Besides, it gave me opportunity to practise with my new 'Adobe Fix' for the iPad Pro.

PS An exciting visitor tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.