Fear of flying

If you're in the middle of the ocean with no flippers and no life preserver and you hear a helicopter, this is music. You have to adjust to your needs at the moment.
Tom Waits

I suppose you do but flying is an interesting thing. I hate it. It's not that I'm (consciously) scared or worried , though it does seem a very ridiculous thing to be doing, sitting in a tin can way up above the clouds, I am just extremely ill. I look around me and everyone else seems to be having a good time - chatting, eating, reading, drinking and I'm usually reaching for the paper bag - first thing I check when I'm on board. Los Angeles is as far as I've got and I was wheeled off there! The woman behind me said she was praying that I wasn't going on to Las Vegas! The family know to ignore me and say nothing. The in sickness and health bit was tested almost immediately on our honeymoon flight over to Paris. Ah well, the thoughts you have whilst gardening, and then searching for a blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.