Still Here!

By Yorkhull

Pou whenoa

Well I am at the airport about to depart for Hong Kong. This morning I visited Radio NZ to do an interview. Unlike the UK I got 16 minutes and was allowed to develop my discussion. For those who need something to help them sleep, the interview can be found at

http://www.radionz.co.nz/national/programmes/ninetonoon/audio/20158545/is-temporary-leave-the-best-way-to-help-prisoners-reintegrate-into-society

The blip is a photo of the Radio NZ office as I waited for my interview. I am always struck by the rich cultural history of Maori in NZ which has blossomed and found a voice and an influence over recent years. There is so much heritage, and ritual. When I visited a unit in prison last week I had the full greeting which took well over an hour but was a fascinating experience. These wooden posts are important in signifying the welcome into a building. Here is some brief explanation.

Pouwhenua or pou whenua (land post), are carved, wooden posts, or are fighting staffs used by Māori, the indigenous peoples of New Zealand. Pou whenua are wooden posts that mark territorial boundaries or places of significance. They are generally artistically and elaborately carved and can be found throughout New Zealand.

So a great three weeks is nearly over and Hong Kong next!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.