An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Hand Me Down...

When I was having the massive clear out of my wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table on Saturday, I took the time to sort out my jewellery (everything has it's place but somehow it always ends up in the one box!) and came across this ring that belonged to my mum.

Although I hadn't seen her wear it for many, many years, is the one piece of jewellery that I associate with her from my childhood. She wore it all the time, for years. I have no idea who bought it for her or if it was given to her to mark a special occasion, but it's the first piece of her jewellery that I remember being aware of and the first ring I asked to try on. I must have been about 4 and remember her telling me to keep my middle and ring fingers tightly together as she slipped it on them both.

And so began my love affair with rings. :)

I can't remember when she stopped wearing it and I had completely forgotten about it till I opened the box on Saturday. Nowadays it can only fit half way down my pinkie finger and I think the green stones are glass rather than emeralds, but I felt such a surge of love when I saw it, that I am going to have it re-sized to fit properly and I am really looking forward to wearing it in her memory.

lLife seems to get more hectic by the day and I've been forced to back blip again. I hate back blipping as it means I've not been near blip so have been losing touch with all my favourite blippers. Very frustrating!

Anyhoo, backblips start HERE.


:-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.