The Way I See Things

By JDO

Holly

Yes, I know: it's not December yet! But not much in my garden was looking even slightly photogenic on this thoroughly dreich day (there I go again - apologies to all Scottish people), and this at least is colourful. In case you thought holly always had to be prickly, this one isn't - it's Ilex x altaclerensis 'Golden King', and it's a very reliable and undemanding shrub - although it needs some space. It's a female plant (go figure), so it will only produce berries if there is a male holly somewhere nearby. I'm not sure what's eating it - something with tough jaws and a strong stomach.

It's a bit of an emergency blip today; I'm singing Brahms' German Requiem on Saturday (not all by myself, you understand), and it has occurred to me that this piece, which is upwards of an hour long, is not going to learn itself. So I've been doing a lot of work on the iffy bits today - I currently have a speaking voice that would probably get me work voicing over film trailers, and at a pinch could just about sing the bass line.

Right - blip done. Dog walk (unless they decline, which would be marvellous), dinner, and then off to the last full rehearsal. Wish me luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.