Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Pre-Advent

This is a view of Holy Trinity Church taken from the churchyard on a chilly morning after a rehearsal for an Advent Evensong (went well, despite my almost voiceless state on the tenor line of Remember O Thou Man). Two things struck me as I took it.

One was that my previously fave view of the church, down the north wall past the porch, doesn't quite fill the bill any more, since we stuck a portaloo in the recess behind said porch. I'm not sorry to know that our frailties are being addressed in physical as well as spiritual terms, but it does spoil the view.

The second point is more serious. The grey stillness of the day, of this week when we perhaps dare to think of waiting for Christmas, felt at once bleak and anticipatory. And that seemed suitable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.