LOOKING SOUTHWARDS

In the morning we worked in the garden. It was a nice, windy, almost sunny weather. Great to be outside. Piet Hein did this third day hedge trimming and still more to come.
I trimmed another laurel bush that grows, overgrowths, along the steps.
In our garden here the former owner planted and loved (I guess) laurel trees (they grow everywhere), buxus trees too in the shape of clouds as she called it, next to the blackberry bushes and the many ferns that did come uninvited, I think.
I had decided to go for my cycle ride a bit earlier than I did on the other days, neither would I go as far. So I cycled to Herstelle, deswcended and pushed my bike the steep road till I reached the wide, wide plain. Oh I do so love this plain.
The eye can roam there, as far as the distant hills and the heaven is unendless.
There is a nice cycle path that leads to Helmarshausen, a quiet road, with fields on both sides, and some horses in meadows alongside.
The Parrots sanctuary was closed of course, all Parrots sitting warm inside, or so I imagine. I heard them scream anyway.
Near Helmarshausen the road goes down again, very steeply. One leaves the plain behind.
It had not been windy up there at all, and I was so satisfied that I chosen this trip for today.
The picture shows the sight one has southwards.

My haiku:

I took my soul upon
The plain to have the wider
View again

It stops abruptly here, I do not know why.
For hours, it seems and it is, dark now. Our neighbour told us happily that in three weeks from now the light will be longer a minute again every day.

And the proverb:

The beard will pay (not pay) for the shaving.

1830 in Forby.
When a hedge is trimmed the brushings are called 'beardings'.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.