Derelict Thursday - The Great Gates of Stover

Stover House and its grounds were the home of James Templer who sent granite from Dartmoor to London for many of its grand buildings including the London Bridge that we sold to America. In 1829 the estate was sold to Edward Adolphus Seymour, the eleventh Duke of Somerset. The gatehouse was added to the start of the carriage drive at this time. Nowadays if you're driving along the A38 to Plymouth or points west, you'll see it on the left hand side of the road standing atop the embankment.

Once again I may be stretching the use of the term 'derelict' as they are grade ll listed but they are not used as they would have been 'in the day'. Stover School which is the current use of Stover House has it's own entrance and Stover Park, which is what the grounds are now, has another entrance. So I don't imagine they're opened very often these days. Anyway, I've entered it as part of the SarumStroller's Derelict Thursday challenge.

I've finished the job I was doing on my calendar and ordered them so now maybe I can get on and process some of my Lakes photos. Not tonight though it's the Thursday acoustic jam night. I'll catch up with you later or tomorrow.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.