Derelict Graveyard

I find graveyards fascinating. I love looking at the details on the headstones and imagining the pleasure and pain in the lives of those buried. I am thankful that we have so much heritage from the ordinary to the famous and special.

I am very thankful to personally have such a wonderful and supportive family, brought home with a jolt yesterday with the sudden death of my son-in-law's mother.

I visited my daughter and new baby again this afternoon and paused on my way home to take some night shots (light painting) of a derelict graveyard behind a local church. There is a more modern and used graveyard close by which includes the grave of author Roald Dahl. This section though has been left to nature but is beautiful - more a nature reserve. One particular grave is for the 5 year old daughter, wife and infant son of a previous vicar - they didn't all die at the same time though. What grief must there have been in that grave?

Thank you to everyone for pushing my blip from yesterday into the spotlight. It is still just about there at the bottom now, but I was delighted to see it almost at the top yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.