As my mood grabs me...

By AlisonM

Race Week

It's Gold Cup time again and the hoards will be descending on the racecourse ready for a few days of extravagant decadence or something - mostly drinking and shouting at the horses I expect ....

I'm not sure what day the races start but the signs are there - just about every pub is advertising Guinness and road signs have popped up around the place. I anticipate late buses in the evening as the bus company are kindly laying on buses from the race-course so us plebs have come to expect delays in getting home. That said, that is about the only inconvenience I suffer during the week and quite like the change in the town albeit subtle. There used to be a time when you couldn't move for people but there is far more at the race-course now to keep them all up there until hometime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.