The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Um....

Yes, I know. Dreadful.

Woke up at 7, was supposed to leave at 8. Ended up getting a lift from CleanSteve, or I would have been very late for work. The team was delighted that I've managed to find a professional course that suits me, that won't wreck the school routine. The morning passed in a flash as we have a new little boy in nursery, and new arrivals often bring chaos, to start with. But we had fun, too, he and I!

At lunchtime, I nipped out to look for photo opps. It occurs to me that, as the days are so short at the moment and my work days are getting longer, I run the risk of never experiencing daylight except at work, when I am mainly inside.

By the boundary fence I startled a brown deer in the woods, but once it was gone, there were only dead brown leaves to look at. So I finished up with some poorly framed leaves that kept moving around in the light breeze that sprung up as soon as I got my macro settings organised! I don't even know the name of the leaves.

After work I rushed home to get my climbing gear together, and see if it was all intact. Then I had the idea of checking my phone, and found that my climbing mates had cancelled! Ach well, more time to make the g-f white choc and apple biscuits that I am producing for the school coffee morning.

Watched Nigel Slater's Icing on the Cake at the same time, and was pleased to see the comedienne Jenny Eclair lambasting cupcakes as "not honest cakes ... marketed at women, for women". I'm with you on that score, Jenny. Cakes should be more than a mere four inches of swirly pastel-coloured icing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.