Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Success

Last night was the judging of the Pictures on a CD competition at the Photo Society, and I had entered 3 images. This was the first time I have entered a competition as I'm only a recent member.

The society has been really good a welcoming me, and I have been impressed with the speakers and the other competitions that I have 'spectated' at, and for the competitions they split the entry into 3 categories based on peoples abilities so that people of a similar level are competing against each other, plus with the chance of 'promotion' to the next level the following year based on your results and awards. I'm not sure whether this is normal for clubs, but I like the idea of people being judged against similar abilities.

I got a Highly Commended award for this blip and I came second in my group with this image of Buachaille Etive Mor, which I had already had framed and hung at home.

I am really chuffed (I've hada big grin on my face all day) with the result and I am encouraged for the future. I think by taking part in Blip I have been constantly improving my photography, so thanks to Blip Central and for all of you guys who stop by and comment and provide encouragement.

Now to select some images to be properly printed and mounted for some competitions next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.