Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Pumpkin For The British

Thanks for the nice comments, stars and faves on the photo of mom and me yesterday. It was quite an honor to have been selected for the spotlight on our American Thanksgiving Day. I'm sure there were many others worthy of selection, too.

This was the last slice of pumpkin pie left over from Thanksgiving.  I had to shoot it (in a hurry because I was eating it fast) for my friend arkensielphoto.

It has come to my attention through her, that pumpkin pie is not a staple of the British diet.  That's a shame.  From October through Christmas, pumpkins are omnipresent in America, and pie made from the canned* version of this vegetable is a delicious dessert alternative. I'm not sure a holiday, especially,  is complete without one on the table!

I hope my fellow Americans agree!

*Once, before food processors were a staple of many kitchens, my apartment-mate and I thought it would be a good idea to make a pumpkin pie from scratch. We cleaned and cubed and steamed and smashed and mashed.  
It turned out to be the lumpiest, grossed thing ever.  It was the last pie I ever attempted. That was nearly 40 years ago. I'm much better at eating them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.