An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Romsey Abbey - Glowing at Dusk

One of those days where you wish you hadn't woken up and can't wait for the day to end. Even worse when it's a superb bright day, all day.

I did manage though to nip on the train to Romsey to get this. I've featured this rugged statuesque Abbey in Blips a bit recently.

What I love about this time of year is how the late afternoons coincide with sunset and dusk. How the rich golden lights of the church ooze out from the tiny ancient windows and pour out into the enveloping dusk and the sense of a day's end. You just don't get that in summer.

LARGE

Lens, as ever, is Nikkor 10-24mm

DERELICT THURSDAY CHALLENGE

Week #10

I spent nearly three hours going through and commenting on nearly all entries from this week. Not helped by yet another broken mouse (having no carpets means dropped mice get badly damaged when hitting concrete) and half my time was spent waiting for comments to either being submitted or waiting to be able to comment. I know Blip HQ are addressing this and it's not really kind to harp on about such things but it does make such much more of a chore than it should be.

In the end, freespiral's poignant and very human cobweb covered old hobnailed boots was different enough to stand out. So, she's my Favourite this week.

Runner Up is fotodays ultra grotty fire escape. The angle of the shot and the perspective adds to the sense of unwieldiness.

Well done to both!

When I returned home just now, someone was coming out of the flat next door, which I thought was still vacant, after two years. I said hello, which was not returned. I don't blame them, it's the way of the world these days after all and just gives me extra reason to return putting my head under a stone.

See you all tomorrow!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.