Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Green!

Okay, first things first ... for those who played yesterday's "what am I" game and guessed pelican ... you are CORRECT! It was, in fact, an immature brown pelican, taken from directly overhead (I was standing on a boardwalk, he was below). His wings were slightly open, which gave you a nice look a the feathers on his back. An unusual view (at least for me) and I liked how beautiful his feathers were.

Now, onto today's bird - a Green Heron, spotted feeding in boggy area, in extremely poor light (of course) while I was out walking the nature trail at John Chestnut park this morning. A new park for me and one I'll definitely go back to - lovely trails and a huge lake. I've never been this close to a green heron - they are fairly shy birds and, in my experience, not easily seen. They like to feed back in grasses and overgrown areas along lakes and marshes, which makes them hard to spot. I was on a boardwalk back in the woods when I just glanced over and - there he was! I was able to poke my lens through the railing on the boardwalk and get off a bunch of shots, while he calmly and slowly prowled the water. I posted three other shots of him and 4 other miscellaneous shots form today, starting HERE with a close up of his gorgeous feathers. .

Hubs left bright and early this morning, and is already in frosty, snowy NJ. He's at our house now, after locating a shovel and removing some snow so that he could get into the driveway. Making me kind of glad I stayed in FL! However, as always when we are apart, I am counting the days until he returns. Five sleeps...

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.