Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Just Dessert

What a wonderful day!

We were up 5.30am, out of the house by 7.15am and on our way to Edinburgh to see #2 Daughter, katkatkat. We thought the sooner we set off the more time we could enjoy with her. She needed to go to Sainsburys, that suited me fine as I needed a present. I was expecting to buy flowers but last night the recipient blipped that she had received a lovely bouquet! Nevermind, there was sure to be something else!

After lunch the next shopping destination was B&Q! Kat had needed some things for the office and planned to drop them off. That also suited me fine because I wanted to drop off my wrapped-up present and card on a blipmate in hospital. It wasn't visiting time, I didn't expect to be allowed in to see her on her treatment day. There was no ward clerk so a nurse came out to meet us. I handed over the gift and the nurse invited us in to see the patient. Unknown to me caffeinated had only been a few yards away all the time we were waiting for the nurse, but of course I'd never met her before. I don't know what the nurse must have thought, me not recognising the patient, then telling the patient I was called clickychick! That'll teach me not to choose a daft name!

Anyhow, there we were, meeting each other at last! I knew one of her subs always referred to her as "lovely", now I know why. She really, really is, a beautiful young woman with a charming personality not to mention a great photographer. I've followed her journal for a long time.

As if that wasn't enough of a surprise for one day, The Daughter announced that she and her partner were taking us out to dinner in a very nice hotel, The Bonham in Haymarket. This was my dessert: chocolate pavé, pistachio ice-cream, cherries and kirsch!

I certainly got far more than I deserved today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.