Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A welcome sit down

I was back in Newcastle today for more of the Books on the Tyne festival.

Julie and I took the bus from Corbridge - what a convenient way to travel without the problem of finding a parking space in the city.

First we attended Newcastle Noir where 3 crime writers were interviewed. They were Ann Cleve (Vera and Shetland), Mari Hannah (Kate Daniels series) and Yrsa Sigurðardóttir (Thóra Gudmundsdóttir). Yrsa works as a civil engineer and writes in her spare time. I enjoyed the first novels about Thora. I'm not too keen on Ann Cleve's writing style but watch the TV spin offs. I haven't read Mari Hannah yet.

It was an excellent session chaired by Jacky Collins of Northumbria university.

We walked briskly from the Library to the Lit and Phil to hear Sarah Moss. I was interested because her new novel includes the story of a young woman who qualifies as a surgeon long before there were many women doctors in the UK. The book sounds fascinating and I can't wait to read it.

Returning to the bus, I shopped in the Grainger (covered) market and bought delicious fish which became a fish pie for dinner with Margret.

These 3 were resting their weary legs and looking at a window full of sausages!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.