carliewired

By carliewired

The Feeders

Attractive in red,
Filled with sugary syrup
Designed for hummers

~ carliewired

I have to admit it. I was seduced by the hummingbird feeder on the left. It looked so enticing and trendy. I just had to have it for my yard. It sat most of the year in the china cupboard waiting for an attachment to the awning. It had to have just the right location. It had to be perfect!

Yesterday, I washed it carefully and filled it ready for placement. As soon as I turned it for hanging it shot syrup at me. D hung it carefully under the edge of the awning. I had great expectations that it would entice the battling hummers but it just dribbled its contents pitifully onto the cement. It was a complete failure as a hummingbird feeder, despite its dashing appearance.

Today, on our trip to the hardware store for plumbing supplies, I found its replacement. It is curvaceous like a hot air balloon. It has handpainted roses and four plastic flower heads for feeding. It wasn't five minutes and the first hummer buzzed in for a close inspection. The former bird feeder has been de-commissioned and will soon be a donation at a charity shop. I would hate to tell you what that little experiment cost me! :(

Meanwhile, on the ground the mourning doves are beginning to out-number the little sparrows who are most determined to have their fair share. No battle mounting there. Just constant jockeying for position.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.