Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A misty morning

I was up early getting the oxtail into the oven for Sunday lunch, and I noticed that as the morning progressed, the fog seemed to be getting more dense instead of lifting as it usually does. I dashed down to the river and got some photos of the misty scenes as seen here.

As the boys wake up I seem to cook breakfast in stages, so I had two sessions of preparing breakfast, then no sooner had that been tidied away and then I was busy preparing the rest of the lunch while the oxtail was cooking slowly in the oven for 4 hours.

After lunch we decided to put up our Christmas decorations and lights. We always have a family argument debate about whether to put up a real tree or our lovely fake one. Every year we buy a real tree from a reputable farm near us (Garson's) and despite watering it and treating it as we should it drops its needles after 5 days and by Christmas is quite dry and dead. There is never a pine smell, and quite frankly I find it a waste of time and money - so this year I won the debate and the fake tree went up. I can already see Luke's face falling when he sees a fake tree in his home when he gets back from Strasbourg. I also have a problem with cutting a tree down every year when we need to be thinking about saving our forests. I know that these are commercially grown, but still....

By the way, the oxtail was delicious...just the thing for a winter' day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.