weewilkie

By weewilkie

lost at copper pond

Through the window this morning came clear light, unhindered by the mist or cloud. A blue sky after the dour grey of the past week. I decided that I was going to go out and enjoy it.

I was at Milngavie Folk Club to see a gig with a pal a few months ago and saw there the entrance gate to the West Highland Way. I made a mental note then to come back and walk some of it, along Allander Water up to Mugdock Park. Today was that day.

I got on the bus to Milngavie ( pronounced Mill - guy ) and sat there watching North-West Glasgow getting on with its Sunday. We got nearer to the town centre then turned off up to an estate where, after 10 minutes, the bus stopped and turned off its engines. The bus driver looked askance at me and told me I should have got off a while back and he was going to sit there for another 15 minutes.

So I got off for a quick wander around this strange estate. Geese honking overhead in chevron flight, a perfect arrow against the blue. Around the corner from the bus was an incongruous wee pond. It was nice but looked man-made and was locked to "residents only". There were some ducks on it and the sun was shining just right to paint the water a bright copper colour. Lovely, especially with the ripples the duck was making cleaning itself.

I eventually did make it to the Walk and enjoyed myself walking along through the russet of dead ferns among the bare branched forest. There and back was only two hours. And I had no trouble with the bus home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.