The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

On a hill far away...

To be honest, Stroud cemetery is almost next to my house, and the chapel on top of the hill was only ever used for burial services. I find the cemetery very handy for emergency blips. My mother lives next to one, and I've always found them peaceful places, though ours is always chock-a-block with dog walkers, being a large green place where dogs can run free.

Despite the lovely sunlight, I did not get out till nearly sunset! Spent the daylight perusing cookbooks and buying yet more strange types of flour online. I am going to have a go (eventually) at making my own gluten free flour blends. It seems I am allergic to a preservative (calcium proponiate /E 282) found in supermarket breads/baked goods, including the gluten free ones. It gives me a dreadful skin rash. I am pleased to have discovered this, and to have gone almost a whole week without scratching (!) but it means I'm going to be doing more baking. On the plus side, I will no longer feel like a most unfortunate teacher at my school, who had skin problems, whom we nicknamed "Mrs Itch and Scratch".

Aren't girls cruel? Even in nursery we come across incidents of unkindness between girls. They know how to go for the jugular (yes, I should know, I'm one, too!) Out of the blue this afternoon I remembered an ineffective head girl at my school, back in the 70s. Her surname was Ogilvie, and her first name began with S, so we called her Soggy Oggy. Fortunately I left school a year early, though I was more in the running for, say, head librarian or head nerd....or head always in a book...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.