Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

3 for 1

A slightly distracted day at work today due to it being a public holiday tomorrow; I was determined to get a free muffin (having done the Costa web survey) and a cookie with the UAE flag on it. So that was going to be my blip... except when I exited the building to leave for home, I noticed they had put up flags and lights on the building opposite, and I do love the distorted reflection of the building across the road (Sama Tower) and ours, so decided that would be my blip.

Got home to a very happy G who had spent the afternoon making way for Christmas decorations and unpacked one box onto the dining table. She was "happy" because she discovered a bottle of ginger wine in the cupboard and wanted to make sure it was still ok! It was. :D

We went out because I wanted to run some errands (bank, tailor etc), and ended up driving around to see buildings decked out in lights the colour of the UAE flag and also the promised fireworks. Burj Al Arab is where things were happening, but when we got there, it didn't look like anything was going on! The 7 star luxury hotel celebrates 15 years of opening its doors today, and had I not got into a big chat with a fellow Volvo enthusiast about my car, I might have been able to show some of the special lighting they had. Sorry! Think the fireworks got cancelled because it rained on and off - mostly in the places where they were launching them from! ;) I'm quite impressed with the shot the X20 was able to get using the Pro-Light Setting. So here you are... 3 images that sum up my day.

Planning a drive to the mountains tomorrow...

Large is GOOD.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.