Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Al Ain

I didn't wake up as early as I intended to today; in fact, I was shocked at what time it was when I received a call to enquire about the D5100 I recently listed on a local classifieds site. The person was calling from Al Ain - Abu Dhabi's oasis town and also where the ruling family (of Abu Dhabi) come from. I haven't been to it for years and it's only 130kms away from here!

So, on the basis of showing a man a camera, we set off around lunch time as it took a little bit of time to get everything sorted; and met up with our fellow photography enthusiast - and I am thrilled to say - he bought it! That done; G and I decided to see what's new in Al Ain. No surprises how much it has changed with more hotels, malls, built up areas etc but the three lane roads are still very empty. Ok, it was a public holiday but Mark (new owner of D5100) said it was like that even through the week.

We passed the Jahili Fort (above) on our reccy. [More info available if you click the link.] I remember bringing tourists here in the 90s. It's had a bit of a touch-up. I have to credit G with this shot as I did all the driving. I like the palm trees and ghaf trees in the front... both local to this region. An interesting town; but too quiet for city dwellers like us! It was great to come back into Dubai... something about it just shouts ENERGY.

And now I must get to bed and be ready for two more days at work before hitting the weekend! What a great way to have a week. So motivating! :)

Ooh - forgot to say - looked up the weather forecast for the month online; and today was predicted to be "sunny and delightful" at 25degC! :) Actually, that's the sort of temps we have till the end of the year with no rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.