Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Tersefanou

YAY! I have finally caught up. All in one evening! My first chance to blip since arriving. If you're interested...

Friday 27th November
Saturday 28th November
Sunday 29th November
Monday 30th November
Tuesday 1st December

Apologies for the detail in these blips, but the days have been so intense, I wanted to record what we've done and also how God has really worked in these days and made everything fall into place.

Another early start, this time, dressed up to go to the Bank to the loans department. They have agreed to change the currency and it is a fantastic offer for me.

But first, we had to call in at the flat to open the door to let the IKEA assembly men in. They were early! We were on time. [My blip is of the drive there.] Opened the door to find the white goods hadn't been installed as promised, but just delivered! Hmmm... It meant there were things in the way.

They were real professionals, but it still ended up taking them nearly 5 hours to assemble everything. I am so glad I didn't even attempt  to do this part as I don't have the time or energy at the moment.

Everything went really well at the Bank. I have to say - I have never signed and initialled so many papers in my life! Had to race back as the IKEA guys called to say they had finished. They did a great job, but I am really surprised to find that over here, they don't clear away the packaging, so the balcony is full of cardboard. They also don't clean up after they've drilled a hole etc.!! Cyprus is making me realise how far advanced Dubai is!

Headed back home to get out of work clothes so we could get other things done, namely lunch and going back to the airport for the rug. This time I brought it home! We then went shopping for laundry items - bins, mops... all that boring stuff... found it all nearly under one roof. The rest, we got in a newly opened (TODAY) French DIY store called Mr. Bricolage that we happened to drive past.

They were giving away food and drink and generally had a big carnival atmosphere, in fact, they even had fireworks! This was truly special as it is UAE National Day today and we would normally have seen fireworks! Got what we needed and decided to head back to the new flat to put them there for the maintenance team who are going to do the last bits for us of hanging pictures on the wall etc.

Finally home before 8pm for the first time this week; and now it is nearly midnight and I really ought to get to bed, as another team want to start work at 8:30 tomorrow. (Why do they start so early here??!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.