Pickling

December has carried on where November left off, with another damp, grey dismal day. I spent most of the day report writing, but as a distraction I also did some preserving - three jars of spiced cranberry chutney and this large jar of Italian garden pickles - an ideal accompaniment to antipasti, which is one of the boys' favourite meals at the moment. Our family tends to prefer the savoury side of Christmas - cakes and biscuits often get ignored - but a plate of fine bread, cold meats, special cheeses, chutney and pickles never lasts long!

The recipe I followed is here, just in case you want to make some too. However, don't pour the vinegar straight into the hot sterilised jar as she suggests - my first one shattered and I had to dash out for a replacement!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.