Drunken woman fringed head

We're talking lettuce here, not me ;-)

These are my favourite lettuce plants. They're slow to bolt and don't taste bitter. They're hardy and oh, they have a wonderful name ;-) I think this is one meeting I would have enjoyed, the one where these lettuce were named. They have a quirk factor that makes me just right for a lensbaby macro shot.

They haven't done so well in our weird cool summer, but now we're into warmer times they're thriving. So much so I bought some more today and popped them in the garden as it started to cool down.

I've felt more rested today and made the most of the lack of wind and heat to deal with a few outside jobs. I've also had a mild fit of activity in the kitchen - raspberry muffins, a pie of sorts featuring filo pastry, tuna, sliced tomatoes, sliced zucchinis, olives, a little chilli and a sprinkle of cumin seeds. It's good and a repeatable offense. Shortly my apricot jam will be ready.

Just call me domestic goddess ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.