A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Who'd have thought it

This is a bit of a blip for Past Me. This mothers' day I am waking up in the home I grew up in. The only 'home' I have ever known as my folks moved here when I was a little under 4 years old. I was going to blip my bedroom. The room I marched into from my shared room with my little big brother and declared my own when I was 5. Now J and A sleep in it when we are here. Extraordinary and yet so very ordinary what has happened in those intervening 32 years. A cliche I know but there were many times when, from the inside, it didn't appear likely. Of course, from the outside it probably always looked normal and inevitable (in a good way I hasten to add). Anyway, the room has changed too much and taken from any angle never looked 'mine'. So I've opted instead for a view of the garden from my little big brother's room, where we now sleep, that is also not recognisable as his. Well, apart from the trophy cabinet (cricket and football) which prompted A to say, "Uncle Matt must have all the trophies in the world!" He will be pleased when I tell him. You should all remember she's 4. Oh, and it's not the room I marched from all those years ago as at some childhood point for possibly no reason whatsoever my brothers swapped rooms. Anyway, apart from not being constantly churned up by kids or wee'd on by our old dog, the garden remains largely unchanged.

Couldn't be happier today to be a mom or a daughter.

Happy mothers day to all - whether you are one, have one or have memories of one.

Lesley x

Ps - kids did a wonderful job of homemade cards, a necklace, big hugs and the best words. Was so tempting to blip them but wanted to remember that I was in a different home this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.