A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Not got my name on it

I only need to resist the temptation of these little fellas for about 36 more hours and they will be out of my kitchen and being sold at the nursery cake sale. Easy peasy...

Anna was at a party between end of morning nursery and school pick-up so I had an unexpected childfree day. Can't begin to tell you how shattered I am! When I'm with Anna we tend to do a lot of hanging out and I do a lot of lying on beanbags pretending to be a customer in a variety of establishments (cafe, shop, hairdressers, etc). All low energy stuff. With my excuse for such inactivity temporarily removed I burst into frenzied activity. Today has involved two trips to Sainsbury's, seed planting with nursery kids, baking cupcakes and choc chip muffins for the nursery cake sale, play-related emails, delivering Street Party fliers down the road, two loads of washing in and out, cleaning out a cupboard in the kitchen, two school runs and cooking dinner for 5. Was feeling fairly physically done in by bedtime when J hit me with the emotional whammy of some playground related unhappiness. Won't bore you with the details but suffice to say he is learning / about to learn some tough life lessons about not being able to keep everybody happy. Sadly for him he is his father's son and so this is a big concern.

So now I am emotionally drained too. I didn't used to believe people who said it got harder as the kids get older. I was wrong.

Happily, much needed chicken curry and chilled evening with Carl awaiting me.
Lesley x

ps - if anyone who is further ahead in the child rearing stakes cares to stop by and tell me it really does get easier and this is just a little blip I would be delighted to hear from you. I wouldn't even mind being wrong again :-)

pps - almost forgot to mention it was such a glorious day weather wise I really thought it should have been an outside blip but when I noticed the sunlight through the conservatory reflecting on the cupcakes it seemed to be the best of all worlds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.