a modest enquirer

By lewishamdreamer

Sunset Behind the Observatory

I've been away awhile again. I wish I hadn't been but my mental health the last two or three months has been poor and I've been motivated to do very little. Work has been upsetting - my boss has gone through two rounds of bullying me, and the establishment hasn't wanted to know. Things came to a head a couple of days ago when they decided not to renew my contract - a decision with questionable timing and even more dubious justification but at least I'm going to be out soon.

Gordon and I decided a great antidote to depression (which I suffer from) was a walk through the park. On a surprisingly warm November day he couldn't have been more right. Being outdoors was relaxing, but I also felt enriched by noticing the seasonal changes since our last long walk. Greenwich Park is a wonderful resource, and it's always heartwarming to observe so many locals appreciating it in their own ways. This sunset came near the end of our leisurely stroll, and it was a privilege to have had the opportunity to see its full majesty.

I left the park feeling better than I had in months. There was no guarantee of how long that positivity would last, but that didn't matter; it was a perfect day, and I got to enjoy it with the man I'm going to marry. Take that, depression!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.