Turkey Shoot

I often admire the free range turkeys at Temple Farm as I approach the level crossing. It can get congested there so I have never stopped before. It was quiet today so I pulled off the road into a very rutted gateway.

As I got out of the car the turkeys ran towards me. I stood there telling them how handsome they are. Every now and again they would erupt into a ripple of gobbles in unison, stretching their heads forward, which sent their snoods flying.

Then the dustmen in their lorry with its flashing lights arrived. The turkeys seemed to love watching the men darting about in their high-vis jackets and were very vocal.

It's sad to think that these birds haven't got long left to live but they have had a wonderful happy life. They are fed natural foods and never given antibiotics or other additives for growth promotion. Everything is done to ensure they enjoy a stress-free existence. One can tell how healthy they are by the condition and colour of their caruncles, wattles and snoods, which have coloured up with the excitement of meeting me and the dustmen. :)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.