horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Heads Down, Bums Up...

Very torn on today's image after a wee Figgate Park wander in the middle of the day to break up the chores. This wins, because I think the 'Water off a Goose's Back' shot was better viewed large. The geese appeared to be cleaning with quick dips followed by a short preen, and one even had a dive down like a duck, disappearing underneath for a good 30 seconds. Never seen a goose do that before...

Morning saw the chickens cleaned out, with both their sleeping quarters, and the walk-in run, getting scrubbed clean. I'll be off out to let them out again and start measuring up for the wood I need to make three more raised beds, and putting a new high perch in for the girls. Then tonight is an orgy of clearing up, ironing and assorted 'stuff'. Rock n' Roll I tell ya.

The weekends are never really long enough. I was saying to Mel that what I'd really like is a week off just to sort out the garden completely (the building and digging and path making and general intensive labour side - the planting and growing I'm better leaving to Mel), but as it is, with a lack of decent holidays from work, and the evenings getting lighter, it'll be a case of fitting everything in after work, and wherever can be done at weekends.

It's about time anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.