horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Rediscovering the Fear

Funtrip up north last night with the train I was on being cancelled after Dundee, with the only option being to jump on the train I was supposed to be on until then, and take the next train north from there hoping that there wasn't any trouble with me having the bike with me.

As it was I made it with everything I'd started the journey with all the way up to Aberdeen. Mind you, hauling the bike up here felt a bit of a waste of time as I had one of those mornings on the bike where nothing flowed at all. So while the sun shone, and my brother enjoyed the ride, with his friend Stuart, I ditched at the halfway point before I did myself an injury. Really I'd had too long off the mountain bike to come back into it with such a technical 'natural' trail. Discretion, valour, etc etc etc.

Better than not enjoying the ride, although I got back to the car feeling rather annoyed with myself. That said, I've got the germ of an idea for a 'Rediscovering the Fear' article for one of the better mountain bike magazines - watch this space, so silver linings and all that jazz.

In the meantime I need to hit some manmade trails (probably down at Glentress), get some speed and air under the tyres again, and find the confidence I had in the middle of last year (which was the last time I was properly off-roading). But next weekend it's back to road riding with another audax...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.