'Vale Alex Legg'

I awoke this morning to the very sad news that local songwriter / musician and all round mentor and good guy Alex Legg had passed away overnight. He had only been diagnosed with cancer a few weeks back and there are a lot of people still trying to come to terms with a world without Alex. He was a Scottsman who had found his little niche in the hills of our part of the world, a very accomplished songwriter and musician.

I had seen him play quite a few times up at our local St.Andrews Hotel, and only this year had the pleasure of meeting him and photographing him at an Amnesty International Fundraising gig at the Burrinja Cafe. He was out the front of the cafe smoking a pipe when we were introduced and I asked him if it was cherry tobacco he was smoking. That opened up the conversations with him nicely and by the end of the night he had invited me up to Kelly's Bar in Olinda where he ran an open mic night every Wednesday night to take photographs of the gigs there. I never had the opportunity to get there which I'm feeling sad about. His passing seems to have hit me particularly strongly as I know how much he was adored by all that knew him, not only locally, but around the globe.

R.I.P Alex, the world will be a poorer place without you.
~~~~

Spotted this little echidna just out the front of our next door neighbours tonight. It was either this shot or a spider spinning his / her web.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.