THORNS ON ROSE HIPS or.....

.....rose hips on thorns?

When I was out in the garden the other morning, I noticed these rose hips with lots of thorns from some old Rosa Rugosa bushes - but they were much too high for me to take a photograph - well one that was good enough for me anyway!

Mr. HCB has been pottering in the garden and cutting down lots of the plants that had grown very tall and I was hoping against hope that he hadn’t cut down and disposed of the rose hips and thorns as I wanted to blip them.

Today one of my favourite “new” Christmas songs came to mind, "Thorns in the Straw" composed and sung by Graham Kendrick.

Sometimes we can get so caught up in the “loveliness” of Christmas with all the carols, food, presents, lights, trees, baubles, angels etc that we forget the rest of the story. Maybe the shops haven't got it that wrong to be selling Easter eggs at Christmas!

Add did she see there
In the straw by his head a thorn
And did she smell myrrh
In the air on that starry night
And did she hear angels sing
Not so far away
Till at last the sun rose blood-red
In the morning sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.