The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Another day of temples

I was sure that sunrise at Angkor Wat couldn't match the sunset that I'd seen, but it's one of those things that you just have to do. My alarm went at 4.30am (after 2 hours sleep because my brain decided it didn't want an early night) and I was in a tuk tuk 20 minutes later. As we pulled up to the west gate, there were a few dozen torch lights scattered across the bridge. As I walked across, I noticed all the stars in the pitch black sky.

I took up a great spot at the pond at 5.15am (an hour before sunrise) in the gap between 2 of the many tripods which lined the edge of the water. Then I waited. For ages. Wishing I was still in bed. As the light started to creep in, everyone (there were now 100s) tried to get shots of the temple silhouette but if I'm honest, it just didn't do much for me. The experience of arriving in the dark was exciting and would be a great way to see Angkor Wat for the very first time but sunset is definitely better.

The day was saved by this amazing sunset at Pre Rup.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.