But would he have preferred socks?

This book was published in 1688 - or rather 168-&-7/8 AD! (The type-setter had either run out of 8s or his eyesight was failing. Or perhaps the light was fading and he'd no candle?)

I can't quite decipher the owner's name, beyond Will, but he has inscribed it in 1690 as "Given me by Mr Will Seman my unkol". Perhaps the uncle was his namesake? I presume he was an an ancestor, unless it was bought from a secondhand book shop, of course - by a more recent ancestor? Research shows it was still in print in the late 19th century.

The author was an Oxford graduate - a doctor in divinity. He had a sad personal life, though. Apparently, ten of his 11 children died in infancy. One daughter grew up to make an unhappy marriage and return home where she died of consumption.

I hope the God of the "late and pious learned minister of the gospel" gave comfort to Rev. & Mrs John Owen.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.