Mistletoe Market

In early December every year the local Lions Club organise a Mistletoe Market.
It is held in the centre of town and stall holders come from all over the South Island in order to be part of it. When it comes to Christmas shopping we are totally spoiled for choice. In order not to miss out the local shops also put on sales for the day or have stalls of their goods outside their premises. It is a busy fun day for the town and raises lots of money for both the Lions’ charitable works and the stallholders.
I wandered down town around lunchtime, browsed and chatted with many friends. With Keith and I having just bought another property I can’t say I was the last of the big spenders this year. But I did buy a kitchen spatula and a heavy duty fry pan……practical rather than romantic.
It was hot downtown so the stall holders who were lucky enough to set up under the shade of the trees were very fortunate. I wore my trusty old tramping/walking the dogs sunhat. It was needed and I was surprised at how few folk were wearing sunhats.
On the subject of dogs, Fergus and I met up with Gypsy and her new owner on the Taylor River tracks very early this morning. Erin and her walking mate, who has two dogs, were returning to their vehicles. Gyspy was very pleased to see us. She is looking very shiny and well groomed and happy. I confess that I became quite overcome and wept all over her. It was the first time I had seen her since she went to her new home. As I have said to many folk “the trouble with animals is they steal their way into our hearts…..”
I am sorry that of late I have been a bit lax in answering the lovely comments from my Blip Friends. I will endeavour to catch up. Tonight Keith and I are going to visit Rachel and Richard out in the country for a celebratory meal. Rachel pointed us in the direction of our new property and has been a tower of strength to us. We are so grateful to have such good friends in our lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.