Inverculain

By Inverculain

Coop's Shot Tower

I slept late - bliss! - then headed out a little before lunchtime and wandered around Melbourne, ending up in the Royal Exhibition Building (where there was a design fair on) and then the Museum.

On earlier trips to Melbourne, I've been impressed with how they've incorporated old buildings into modern architecture. I remember going to a meeting n a huge, newly built glass and steel office, where they'd kept an old, much smaller building intact inside and used it as an internal conference/meeting centre - quite surreal to see it there and to walk into that building-within-a-building!

The shot tower in my picture dates from 1888, and today has been preserved, with a glass cone constructed over it, as the dramatic centrepiece of a modern shopping mall.

It took me a while to decide which shot to blip today. I was torn between the shot tower, or this scene of a lonely server in Hosier Lane wondering why he never gets any customers.

You can see a few more shots from my day's wanderings here.

I'm at the airport now, due to fly ~1am. Another call with the Perth baggage handlers today, and I've been assured that my luggage WILL be on the same flight as me from Hong Kong to LHR and so I should be able to pick it up off the carousel as if it had been with me all the time (ha!).

Anyone want to bet it'll be there...?!?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.