Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Winter lights

Feeling a little devoid of inspiration for my Friday blip - and attempts earlier in the day not being particularly successful - I reckoned it was down to relying on one of my three stalwarts: The Forth & Clyde Canal, The Kelpies or The Falkirk Wheel.

Having pictured the Canal and The Kelpies recently, I settled on the Wheel. As Friday had been a clear, sunny day I also reckoned a good sunset might ensue. So I left the house soon after 3pm, drove over to the Wheel car park and walked past the Visitor Centre up to the viewpoint above Roughcastle Tunnel.

In the end, the sunset wasn't particularly spectacular - at least from that viewpoint - and the views over the Wheel nothing special. I waited a short while after sunset, about twenty minutes or so, but gave up at that and decided that one of the pictures I'd taken would just have to do.

However on the way back down the hill towards the car park I noticed the full (or nearly full) moon low in the sky and took some photos of that through the bare trees. Things got even better as there was a string of Christmas lights opposite the visitor centre and my blip for the day was decided in an instant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.