MUSIC TO THE EARS!

I was due to visit my friend, Caroline, this morning and when we left home we could hear a robin singing - it was over in our neighbours' garden, high up in a tree, singing for all it was worth.

It was lovely to hear, and as I hadn't any idea what I would blip today, thought that I would try to zoom in and get a good shot of it. Thankfully, my Canon has a brilliant zoom so I was really pleased that I managed to get several good shots and even one with its mouth open - such a shame that I can't actually put the song on here!

Apparently, robins sing when they arrive on their breeding territories, and Mr. HCB said that a robin was singing again when he was in the garden a bit later and he thinks that the same one comes down searching for food, whenever he is out there - it's quite tame and comes up close, and he has even had them eating mealworms out of his hand.

When we got into the car, having listened to the little robin, we heard this beautiful piece of music on Classic FM - Schindler's List. What a wonderful start to the morning!

So, I’ve heard the music and then seen lots of fine pictures on here today - I just need to go and find some poetry to read!

“A man should hear a little music,
read a little poetry,
and see a fine picture
every day of his life,
in order that worldly cares
may not obliterate
the sense of the beautiful
which God has implanted
in the human soul.”
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe 1749-1832


P.S. Caroline is doing really well, is able to do a lot more and is hoping that the bionic cast on her left arm will be removed next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.