ALMOST.....BUT NOT QUITE!

I had an email this morning from our son who lives in Thailand to say it would be good to Skype at 10 a.m. our time - 5 p.m. their time - so as we haven’t seen him either on Skype or in person since he left the UK in August 2011, I was quite excited.

I ran (well not quite!) downstairs and sorted out Skype on my iPad, only to realise that we needed headphones and I didn’t think that would work because obviously we both wanted to listen and join in the conversation. Then I decided perhaps my iPhone would do the job, so set that up and spot on 10 a.m. I dialled the number, only to be told by Mr. Skype that I needed £2.99 to make the call.

I was getting a little frustrated at this point, so decided to ring our son - we are fortunate that our older son can get us cheap telephone calls - a half hour call only costs about 50p - so we rang and I put the phone on to speaker so we could both speak and listen.

It was so good to chat and catch up with him - here is Mr. HCB chatting to him about football - note the pencil in his hand - all ready to do his Sudoku when he has finished chatting.

We had a laugh about the fact that he met a fellow blipper I haven’t even met yet - have a look at her blip for 4th December here and you will see our son on the left and her son on the right. J said that he “dressed up” so that he would look good in a photograph, but that Yvonne and her son came dressed as he would have done - chilled out and relaxed!

I told him I hoped to meet Yvonne in the New Year - he said she and Jon were both lovely and I would definitely get on with Yvonne - we both like coffee and we both like to chat!

Thought this quote was quite appropriate, attributed to Albert Einstein:

When his wife asked him to change clothes
to meet the German Ambassador, he said,
"If they want to see me, here I am.
If they want to see my clothes,
open my closet and show them my suits."


P.S. Drove the car for the first time today in nearly 3 months - it felt good - but I only went a short distance to some local shops. I need to remember when I get out to swing round and put BOTH feet on the ground!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.