Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Blackford Hill!

Mindful of Grace's wise words yesterday - to keep going with the sealing of the skirting boards - after my Kindle session this morning, I rustled up the will to continue the task.

This took all my enthusiasm, and then some. It involved moving large pieces of furniture, lots of hoovering behind said not-moved-often-pieces and that was even before I got my caulking gun out!

Kneeling down, crawling along, lying on the floor and getting up again are not my best moves. Several times I got stuck. There was a lot of grunting and groaning. Wee Archie's little face would appear at my head, looking concerned. By the time JR came home, I was finished in more ways than one. Two rooms completed now.

We decided to go up Blackford Hill with Archie. He hasn't had a good run around since Before the Snip. We managed to make it there and back in a relatively calm patch between horrendous weather. No, actually, I got caught in hail on the way back to the car - JR already retired to the car after walking about 100 metres up the slope when it got too windy and cold - that hacking cough is still hanging on, so no need to encourage it.

Archie was daft - running round and round like a crazed muddy drookit rabbit driven mad in the wind. I was blown over and slid down the hill in rabbit poo. There was nobody else up there. Wonder why...

Only two more sleeps till our night away Archie's holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.