Towards the Fishermen's Huts

4.5C with sunny spells and squally showers. Wind to 31 mph and gusts to 51 mph.

I had made sure to get a couple of pictures when I was out with Maeve the Deerhound just after 8am. The forecast was such that I didn't think we'd be out again never mind with a camera.

After lunch I checked to see whether there were any dark clouds or showers heading our way. I was surprised to see some blue sky so Maeve and I went down the road to the shore and over the road bridge over the railway line to the beach at Westhaven. Maeve had her coat on in case of rain before we got home but all we had was a few small hailstones just as we got to the beach. Felt blustery, much like yesterday.

I took this shot looking from the back of the beach along towards the fishermen's huts. Inshore the sea was fairly calm although out to sea there were rougher waves. Pretty calm compared to the West coast of the Isle of Lewis as seen here, and Orkney as seen here.

I have seen a report of 144 mph wind recorded on St Kilda today !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.