Episode five, in which the King returns home

Since I have arrived back, I have received reports of discontent amongst the populace. My advisors say it is a seasonal disorder, nothing more. Fools! I can see what is happening. There is talk of shady powers being involved in awarding a new ‘blip of the week’. What madness. I have seen them, these poor opportunistic characters. Their dogs, cats, swans and sunsets. Need I fear them? Avaunt! Away! My castle’s strength will laugh a siege to scorn.

And yet I’m aware that there is a danger in allowing a narrative that change is inevitable to become established. The old order is easily made to appear as complacent and tired. The usurper can offer hope, can paint fantastical images of an unrealisable future, can use the malcontents and disinherited to forward their ignoble cause.
What to do? To attempt to reinvent oneself? Or to nip it in the bud?
I shall sleep on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.