Episode six, in which the King arrives at the Wark

As soon as I awoke, I summoned my closest advisors to listen to their advice. Lamentable stuff. I sent them away in a fury and summoned my focus group. What single event would do the most to cheer the people and raise the esteem of the Great King Jams, I did ask. And gave them a list. A new royal yacht? A refurbishment of the Grand Hall? New uniforms for the Town Guard? A Royal Wedding?
It was quite unanimous. A Royal Wedding it is. Since the sad and untimely demise of the last Queen, perhaps your King has appeared as a lonely character. Imagine how much a young bride and Grand Wedding would enhance my standing!
But time is short! My emissaries have been sent out to the gentry. I must admit that my impatience got the better of me as I watched them saddle up with my letters of intent. Must they go so far afield? And then I saw the twinkling lights of the hostelries of Leith and an idea formed. I called for my equerry and soon I found a promising spot...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.