IMAGINE!

I met my lovely friend, Linda, today for coffee and at last I got to pay!! That may not sound very much, but every week she insists it is her turn but today, she was there before me, so I made sure I got my purse out and insisted that it was MY turn - and she accepted. Not sure if I will be able to do it next time though!

Then Mr. HCB and I met our grandson, Harry, at the Swindon Designer Outlet. He wasn’t going to the dentist like Charlotte so wasn’t up that early. He had text me yesterday when I asked him what time he would like to meet and said “I will text you when I get up and we can go from there”!! So we waited. I text him just before midday to ask if he had seen daylight and about half an hour later had a one word text “Hello”. He eventually arrived at about 2.40 p.m. Not quite sure what it is that lads do that takes SO much longer than girls - but it was good to see him anyway.

I asked him if he would mind being my blip - and sadly he said he would rather not - of course, I respect his wishes, so here is the hot chocolate and the tomato and cheese toastie we bought him instead and you will have to imagine what he looks like!

Again, it was good to catch up with him, because now he is working, we don’t see him very often. He was quite amused when I gave him a Percy Pig Advent Calendar - all right, I know it is 11 days late, but he said he would be quite happy to eat 11 days’ worth in one go - although he did share one with us! He hadn’t had an Advent Calendar for a long time, so he said he would enjoy this one.

One thing I do miss now our grandchildren are teenagers is hearing the Christmas songs they used to enjoy - here is one of his favourites - if you have young grandchildren, they will love it - and if you don't, enjoy it yourself!

Now, I better sort out a date to meet up with our other grandson, Joshua!

“Grandchildren are God’s way
of compensating us
for growing old.”
Mary H. Waldrip


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.